Whanganuilibrary.com
Normal view MARC view ISBD view

The mysterious affair at Castaway House / Stephanie Lam.

By: Lam, Stephanie [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: London : Penguin Group, 2014Description: 1 volume.Content type: text Media type: unmediated Carrier type: volumeISBN: 9781405917001.Subject(s): House -- Renovations -- Fiction | Runaways -- Fiction | Secrets -- Fiction | Dysfunctional families -- FictionGenre/Form: Detective and mystery stories.DDC classification: 823.92
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Log in to add tags.
Fiction notes: Click to open in new window
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Current location Collection Call number Copy number Status Date due
Fiction Davis (Central) Library
Fiction Collection
Fiction Collection LAM 1 Available

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

This stunning debut novel is a gripping read laced with mystery, secrets and love - perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, Tracy Chevalier and Sarah Waters.

There are secrets hiding between the walls at Castaway House . . .
__________

1924
Robert Carver escapes to the glamorous Castaway House to spend a summer in the company of his much wealthier cousin, Alec Bray.

But appearances can be deceiving, and the Brays are a damaged family, with even more damaging secrets. And little does Robert know that his world is about to change for ever. . .

1965
Rosie Churchill has run away from home and everything she knows to stay at the rundown Castaway House.

But when she begins to discover a long-buried scandal she soon comes to realise that neither her own troubled past nor that of the house will stay secret for long. . .

As Rosie begins to learn more about Robert, the further she is drawn into the mysterious history of the house, and their stories, old and new, entwine.
____________

'An incredibly intricate story and wonderfully well written' 5* reader review

'A gripping read with finely wrought characters and lots of rich detail and colour' 5* reader review

'I became totally immersed' 5* reader review

5 8 11 74 109 135 138 142 175

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Publishers Weekly Review

Castaway House, a mansion by the sea in Helmstone, England, provides the setting for Lam's fitfully entertaining first novel. In 1965, 18-year-old Rosie Churchill has left home for the decrepit mansion, where she lives in poverty in the company of various people with their own agendas. She has a personal secret related to her curiosity about the former residents, one of whom was Robert Carver, a poor cousin of the wealthy Alexander Bray. In the summer of 1924, Robert accepts Alexander's invitation to spend the summer at luxurious Castaway House. Despite his riches, Alexander is chronically short of funds. Nor is he in harmony with his greedy and seductive wife. The title pays homage to Agatha Christie's The Mysterious Affair at Styles, but the only connection appears that they are both debuts. Those expecting a Poirot figure, or characters that the reader can truly care about, will be disappointed. (May) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Booklist Review

In 1965, 18-year-old Rosie Churchill runs away from home and takes a room at the once-grand Castaway House. There she finds evidence of, and is mildly haunted by, the decades-gone Robert Carver; becomes the confidant of a 60-year-old amnesiac; and finds herself attracted to a fellow female tenant. In 1924, we learn, Robert Carver came to stay with his wealthy cousin, Alec, and his beautiful new wife, Clara. Just as there are rumors about Clara's past and her real motives for marrying Alec, the staff whisper about the master of the house and his relationship to missing maids. Fans of gothic suspense, infamous homes, and unsteady marriages will appreciate this debut's homage to Du Maurier's classic Rebecca.--Keefe, Karen Copyright 2016 Booklist