Whanganuilibrary.com

Obsession / Karen Robards.

By: Robards, KarenMaterial type: TextTextPublication details: London : Hodder, 2008, c2007Description: 469 pages ; 18 cmContent type: text Media type: unmediated Carrier type: volumeISBN: 9780340951781 (pbk.)Subject(s): Government investigators -- Fiction | Drug addicts -- Fiction | Brothers and sisters -- Fiction | Virginia, Northern -- FictionGenre/Form: Thrillers (Fiction) DDC classification: 813/.54 LOC classification: PS3568.O196 | O27 2007Online resources: Contributor biographical information | Publisher description Review: "Katharine Lawrence has no idea what hit her. The attack came out of nowhere. Only hours earlier she was enjoying a girls-only weekend with an old college friend. Now she finds herself lying bound and gagged on her kitchen floor, staring with terrified eyes at her friend Lisa while two masked gunmen search her house for - what? She doesn't know. She knows only that, unless they can escape, whatever it is the men are searching for could end up getting both her and Lisa killed." "But Katharine's nightmare is just beginning. When she awakens in the hospital, her nose crushed, her body battered, her brain tells her that things aren't right - and it's not the attack that's disorienting her. She doesn't recognize herself when she looks in the mirror: her slim body, her manicured hands, her blond bob. And the smiling, handsome doctor at her bedside - Dr. Dan Howard - is familiar, but in a totally unfamiliar way. Perhaps the trauma of the attempt on her life has given her some kind of weird amnesia. She's twenty-nine, the special assistant to the head of the CIA, and she's lucky to be alive. She also knows she can trust no one." "Acting on instinct, Katharine runs for her life with Dan, her newfound protector, at her side. By turns grateful and unnerved by his presence, and unable to shake a feeling of profound dread, she allows him to spirit her to a secluded safe house. Instead of finding a haven, they stumble into a tangled web of government conspiracy, and Katharine is left confused, frightened, and desperate to uncover the truth. As the pair is drawn further into this shadowy world where almost nothing is as it seems, as fear gives way to a firestorm of attraction, the cat-and-mouse game grows more deadly, and soon both their lives are at stake."--BOOK JACKET.
Holdings
Item type Current library Collection Call number Copy number Status Date due Barcode Item holds
Fiction Davis (Central) Library
Fiction Collection
Fiction Collection ROBA 1 Available T00615720
Total holds: 0

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

Katharine Lawrence remembers the vicious burglars who shot her best friend, the terror she felt the night she nearly died.
But there are things she doesn't remember at all. Like her lover's voice on the phone. Like her clothes in her luxurious Washington townhouse. Like the face in her mirror. Everything in her life feels utterly wrong, as if the trauma has given her some kind of amnesia.
As Katharine acts on her instincts and runs for her life, she's rescued by Dan Howard, the handsome doctor who lives next door. She thinks she can trust him, but she will have to decide fast.
Because the killers are back.

Originally published: New York : G.P. Putnam, 2007.

"Katharine Lawrence has no idea what hit her. The attack came out of nowhere. Only hours earlier she was enjoying a girls-only weekend with an old college friend. Now she finds herself lying bound and gagged on her kitchen floor, staring with terrified eyes at her friend Lisa while two masked gunmen search her house for - what? She doesn't know. She knows only that, unless they can escape, whatever it is the men are searching for could end up getting both her and Lisa killed." "But Katharine's nightmare is just beginning. When she awakens in the hospital, her nose crushed, her body battered, her brain tells her that things aren't right - and it's not the attack that's disorienting her. She doesn't recognize herself when she looks in the mirror: her slim body, her manicured hands, her blond bob. And the smiling, handsome doctor at her bedside - Dr. Dan Howard - is familiar, but in a totally unfamiliar way. Perhaps the trauma of the attempt on her life has given her some kind of weird amnesia. She's twenty-nine, the special assistant to the head of the CIA, and she's lucky to be alive. She also knows she can trust no one." "Acting on instinct, Katharine runs for her life with Dan, her newfound protector, at her side. By turns grateful and unnerved by his presence, and unable to shake a feeling of profound dread, she allows him to spirit her to a secluded safe house. Instead of finding a haven, they stumble into a tangled web of government conspiracy, and Katharine is left confused, frightened, and desperate to uncover the truth. As the pair is drawn further into this shadowy world where almost nothing is as it seems, as fear gives way to a firestorm of attraction, the cat-and-mouse game grows more deadly, and soon both their lives are at stake."--BOOK JACKET.

2 11

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Library Journal Review

(See Prepub Alert, LJ 12/06) (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Publishers Weekly Review

Bestselling Robards (Vanished, Superstition, etc.) adds psychological spice to a familiar love-on-the-run plot. While FBI Special Crimes Unit agent Nick Houston goes undercover to track down the drug dealers who killed his sister, ski-masked burglars break into the Alexandria, Va., townhouse shared by Katharine Lawrence, special assistant to the CIA deputy director of operations, and her boyfriend/boss Ed Barnes. The intruders kill Katharine's friend Lisa and almost kill Katharine, who cannot convince them she doesn't know the location of the safe they came to rob. Despite wounds and a concussion, Katharine flees into the arms of good-looking neighbor Dr. Dan Howard, who drives her to the hospital where she wakes up unsure of her memory or who she is. Not knowing which of her protectors she can trust, questioning clues that don't make sense, unfamiliar even with her own face and figure, Katharine has nothing to go on but her instinct, which tells her to run. Nick, meanwhile, reveals his true identity (to Katharine's surprise but not to readers') just in the nick of time. A page-turner that moves too fast to dot every plot-related i, Robards's 23rd novel again spins satisfaction out of appealing characters who fall in love and bad guys who get justice. (Apr.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved

Booklist Review

Katherine Lawrence is in real trouble. Two men have bound her and her friend with duct tape in the kitchen of her upscale Washington, D.C., townhouse. They keep asking about the location of a safe she knows nothing about, and they seem willing to kill. When Katherine regains consciousness, her neighbor, Dr. Dan Howard, is in the hospital room. Her memories are vague. She recalls that her boyfriend, Ed, a very powerful and scary man, is also her boss at the CIA. She knows that she was living at his place and that her best friend was killed in front her eyes. She knows that she is in danger but not the identities of her stalkers. When Ed calls, Katherine decides to run, but at every step of the way, good old gorgeous Dr. Dan appears. Unsure if she can trust him or even herself, she starts to believe that she is not who everyone believes she is. Robards delivers an intense romantic suspense novel that links an out-of-the-blue beginning with a dynamite ending in riveting and unexpected ways. With vibrant characters and a great plot, this is one of best-selling Robards' best, and a must-read for fans of Nora Roberts and Linda Howard. --Patty Engelmann Copyright 2007 Booklist

Powered by Koha