Whanganuilibrary.com
Normal view MARC view ISBD view

Relentless / Robin Parrish.

By: Parrish, Robin.
Material type: TextTextSeries: Parrish, Robin. Dominion trilogy: 1.Publisher: Minneapolis, Minn. Bethany House, 2007Description: 442 pages ; 22 cm.Content type: text Media type: unmediated Carrier type: volumeISBN: 9780764203459; 0764203452.Subject(s): Doppelgängers -- Fiction | Psychic ability -- Fiction | Conspiracies -- Fiction | Prophecies -- Fiction | Supernatural -- FictionGenre/Form: Fantasy fiction. | Thrillers (Fiction)
Fiction notes: Click to open in new window
Item type Current location Collection Call number Copy number Status Date due Barcode Item holds
Fiction Davis (Central) Library
Fiction Collection
Fiction Collection PAR 1 Available T00486659
Total holds: 0

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p>"A lyrical homage to India's holiest, moodiest, foulest river. . . .Trojanow is the perfect mix of insider and outsider. . . . It is a treasure of a book, a must-have for anyone spending time on the Ganges and wanting to get to know her better."#151; Financial Times </p> <p>"Funny, shocking, and always interesting."#151; The Spectator </p> <p> Along the Ganges was voted one of the greatest travel books of all time by Condé Nast Traveler by a jury including Gore Vidal and Paul Theroux.</p> <p>The River Ganges has a thousand names, and Hindu priests thought it a sin to call her a river at all. She is a goddess, the source of the world. Her waters are holy, healing, and still sold to Hindus the world over. Ilija Tojanow, an international best-selling author, traveled along the Ganges from the source, where it breaks free from the ice in the Himalayas, to the great cities. Along the way he visited the great Hindu festivals and talked to those who warn of ecological disaster caused by gigantic dams. This colorful travelogue describes a country caught between ancient traditions and astonishing modernity, and the holy river that crosses it for hundreds of miles.</p> <p> Ilija Trojanow is the author Mumbai to Mecca (Haus Publishing) and the best-selling novel The Collector of Worlds , for which he was awarded the Leipzig Book Fair Prize.</p>

11 79

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Library Journal Review

Grant Burrows looks in the mirror and sees a stranger with his face. A 7000-year-old prophecy and global conspiracy collide in this action-packed thriller in the vein of Ted Dekker and Bill Meyers. (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted. All rights reserved.

Booklist Review

Parrish's latest opens upon a world so tilted--people are shifted into new bodies, while their old bodies and personalities proceed--that it brings Philip K. Dick to mind. Gradually, the Dick-like paranoia itself shifts into flourishes of sword-and-sorcery and a cast of characters rather like X-Men. Psychokinesis is the theme, and Parrish makes it seem plausible, as his reluctant hero, Collin Boyd/Grant Borrows, discovers his powers in a kind of spiritual journey. The cliff-hanging plot mostly holds up, and the pace is, well, relentless. It's almost as though Parrish has too much talent and can't quite bring it under control. Nonetheless, another of Bethany's sf writers, Randall Ingermanson comes to mind, and Parrish is every bit as skilled. --John Mort Copyright 2006 Booklist