Whanganuilibrary.com
Normal view MARC view ISBD view

The pirate's eye / Guy Bass ; illustrated by Pete Williamson.

By: Bass, Guy.
Contributor(s): Williamson, Pete.
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookSeries: Bass, Guy. Stitch Head: 2Publisher: London : Stripes, 2012Description: 206 pages : illustrations ; 20 cm.Content type: text Media type: unmediated Carrier type: volumeISBN: 9781847152282 (pbk.); 1847152287 (pbk.).Subject(s): Stitch Head (Fictitious character) -- Juvenile fiction | Monsters -- Juvenile fictionGenre/Form: Children's stories.DDC classification: 823.92
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Log in to add tags.
Item type Current location Collection Call number Copy number Status Date due
Childrens Fiction Davis (Central) Library
Children's Fiction
Children's Fiction BASS 1 Available
Childrens Fiction Mobile Library
Children's Fiction
Children's Fiction BASS 1 Available

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

'It's dark monstrous fun!' Wondrous Reads
Re-join Stitch Head, a mad professor's forgotten creation, as he steps out of the shadows into the adventure of an almost-lifetime...
When Stitch Head sees his ice-blue eye for the very first time, he's convinced that it once belonged to the legendary pirate, Captain Flashpowder. Could it be that he is part-pirate? But as Stitch Head prepares for a life on the high seas, some fishy business closer to home puts a stop to his swashbuckling plans...
The second book in the best-selling, laugh-out-loud STITCH HEAD series by award-winning author Guy Bass, with illustrations by Pete Williamson.
Full of monstrous fun, THE PIRATE'S EYE is perfect for fans of David Walliams, AMELIA FANG and THE NOTHING TO SEE HERE HOTEL.
Delve into Stitch Head's other adventures:
STITCH HEAD
THE GHOST OF GROTTESKEW
THE SPIDER'S LAIR
THE BEAST OF GRUBBERS NUBBIN
THE MONSTER HUNTER

11 15 22 24 27 32 75 147 151

Reviews provided by Syndetics

School Library Journal Review

Gr 3-6-There are many successful components to this tale: an endearingly uncertain Frankenstein-like protagonist, two entertaining sidekicks, and a vicious but cute monkey-bat. Stitch Head, a creation of a mad professor, has an identity crisis when his master, Professor Erasmus, leaves Castle Grotteskew to pursue fame and fortune. His friends Arabella, a butt-kicking girl from town, and the Creature, a sweet but dumb monster, try to console him. Since Stitch Head comes to believe that he's part pirate, his friends conjure up a ship. They set off for adventure and discover that the Professor has been kidnapped and a rescue mission is in order. The excellent black-and-white illustrations in this easy-to-read chapter book manage to be both adorable and evocative. The fast-paced plot twists will keep readers guessing, and there's plenty of humor that caters to the intended age range. However, the characters are not very well realized. They have the potential to be interesting, but a lack of background information keeps this title from being memorable. Recommended for students looking for a light read.-Kyle Lukoff, Corlears School, New York City (c) Copyright 2013. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Horn Book Review

This series chronicles the "almost-life" of Stitch Head, a mad professor's creation pursued by the aptly named Freakfinder. The combination of humor and horror may appeal to some readers, but the text calls attention to its own silliness so constantly as to be tiresome. The black-and-white illustrations, complete with faux flaws in the pages, are intentionally more goofy than scary. [Review covers these Stitch Head titles: Stitch Head and The Pirate's Eye.] (c) Copyright 2014. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.