Whanganuilibrary.com
Normal view MARC view ISBD view

Lost dogs and lonely hearts / Lucy Dillon.

By: Dillon, Lucy, 1974-.
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: London : Hodder Paperbacks, 2009Description: 412 pages ; 20 cm.Content type: text Media type: unmediated Carrier type: volumeISBN: 9780340919200 (pbk.); 0340919205 (pbk.); 9780340919187 (hbk.); 0340919183 (hbk.).Subject(s): Dog adoption -- Fiction | Dog owners -- Fiction | Dogs -- Fiction | Human-animal relationships -- Fiction | Chick lit | Dogs -- Housing -- Fiction | Man-woman relationships -- England -- Fiction | Animal shelters -- FictionGenre/Form: Domestic fiction. | General fiction.DDC classification: 823.92 Subject: When the abandoned strays from a local dogs' home are matched with brand new owners, it turns out it might not just be the dogs who need rescuing. Rachel's aunt has left her a house, a Border Collie and, despite knowing nothing about dogs, a crowded kennels. But since her life has collapsed she's not sure she can deal with any more lost souls. Zoe's ex-husband has given their children a puppy. The kids are in love, but she's the one stuck training Toffee the impossible Labrador. She's nearly at the end of her tether -- until Toffee leads her to a handsome doctor...Meanwhile Natalie and Johnny's marriage hasn't been easy since they started trying for a baby. But is a fridge-raiding, sofa-stealing Basset hound like Bertie really the child substitute they're looking for? As the new owners' paths cross on the town's dog-walking circuits, their lives become interwoven. And they -- and their dogs -- learn some important lessons about loyalty, companionship and unconditional love.
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Log in to add tags.
Item type Current location Collection Call number Copy number Status Date due
Large Print Davis (Central) Library
Large Print
Large Print DIL 2 Available

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

Bestselling author Lucy Dillon's heartwarming tale of unconditional love. Perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Katie Fforde.

ROMANTIC NOVEL OF THE YEAR 2010.

'Heart-warming, fun and romantic. Marley and Me fans will love it.' - Closer

When the abandoned strays from a local dogs' home are matched with brand new owners, it turns out it might not just be the dogs who need rescuing.

Rachel's aunt has left her a house, a Border Collie and, despite knowing nothing about dogs, a crowded kennel. But since her life has collapsed she's not sure she can deal with any more lost souls.

Zoe's ex-husband has given their children a puppy. The kids are in love, but she's the one stuck training Toffee the impossible Labrador. She's nearly at the end of her tether - until Toffee leads her to a handsome doctor . . .

Meanwhile Natalie and Johnny's marriage hasn't been easy since they started trying for a baby. But is a fridge-raiding, sofa-stealing Basset hound like Bertie really the child substitute they're looking for?

As the new owners' paths cross on the town's dog-walking circuits, their lives become interwoven. And they - and their dogs - learn some important lessons about loyalty, companionship and unconditional love . . .

When the abandoned strays from a local dogs' home are matched with brand new owners, it turns out it might not just be the dogs who need rescuing. Rachel's aunt has left her a house, a Border Collie and, despite knowing nothing about dogs, a crowded kennels. But since her life has collapsed she's not sure she can deal with any more lost souls. Zoe's ex-husband has given their children a puppy. The kids are in love, but she's the one stuck training Toffee the impossible Labrador. She's nearly at the end of her tether -- until Toffee leads her to a handsome doctor...Meanwhile Natalie and Johnny's marriage hasn't been easy since they started trying for a baby. But is a fridge-raiding, sofa-stealing Basset hound like Bertie really the child substitute they're looking for? As the new owners' paths cross on the town's dog-walking circuits, their lives become interwoven. And they -- and their dogs -- learn some important lessons about loyalty, companionship and unconditional love.

11 30 80 89 94 96 97 98 121 130 168

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Publishers Weekly Review

In this engaging and stirring novel, Dillon (The Ballroom Class) vividly evokes the lives of three women and their unexpectedly connected fates. Successful and chic, Rachel, nearly 40 and alone after a 10-year relationship falls apart, inherits her aunt's kennel. She moves to the outskirts of London to make sense of the bewildering bequest and discovers a close-knit community, including handsome veterinarian George. Zoe, divorced for one year, is at her wits' end when her ex gives their kids a puppy, until she finds some help and solace at the kennel. Natalie, married to the man of her dreams, yearns for a baby and is comforted by their foster dog. Despite a slow start, Dillon weaves a beautiful and gripping tale of loss, friendship, and starting over that will tug at readers' heartstrings and keep them hooked till the very end. (Mar.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Booklist Review

Rachel is not a dog person. She's happy with her life as a workaholic PR pro who sleeps with her married boss, until she suddenly loses it all. At the same time, her eccentric aunt dies, leaving her a family secret, a financial mess, a dog, a kennel to run, and a place to live. In true chick-lit fashion, Rachel moves from the big city to a quirky small town and finds friendship, love, and her true place in life. What saves the book from becoming one big cliche is the genuine affection and respect with which all the eccentric townsfolk are treated. As Rachel tries to use her PR skills to place abandoned dogs in new homes, she meets and befriends a host of fellow townspeople, all with their own issues and strengths. The resolution of Rachel's city-life problems and the revealing of the long-buried family secret are both anticlimactic. But only the hardest of hearts could refuse to cheer for this warm, entertaining, uplifting story of dogs and people rescuing each other.--Block, Marta Segal Copyright 2010 Booklist