Whanganuilibrary.com
Normal view MARC view ISBD view

The murder game / Rachel Abbott.

By: Abbott, Rachel, 1952-.
Material type: TextTextSeries: Abbott, Rachel, Stephanie King: 2.Publisher: London, England : Wildfire, 2020Copyright date: ©2020Description: 408 pages ; 24 cm.Content type: text Media type: unmediated Carrier type: volumeISBN: 9781472254948 (hardback).Subject(s): Murder -- Investigation -- Fiction | Games -- Role playing -- Fiction | Policewomen -- Fiction | Cornwall (England : County) -- FictionGenre/Form: Psychological fiction. | Thrillers (Fiction) | Detective and mystery fiction. DDC classification: 823.92 Summary: A year ago today, we all gathered for Lucas's wedding at his glorious Cornish home overlooking the sea. But no one was married that day. Now Lucas has invited us back to celebrate the anniversary. But the anniversary of what? The wedding that never happened, or the tragedy that occurred just hours before the ceremony was due to begin? He's told us that tonight he has planned a game. We have our costumes, we have our parts, and everyone must play. The game, he tells us, is about to begin. What does Lucas want from us? What are we not being told? And what's going to happen when this terrible game is over?
List(s) this item appears in: Book Chat
Item type Current location Collection Call number Status Date due Barcode Item holds
Fiction Gonville Library
Fiction Collection
Fiction Collection ABBO Available T00825173
Total holds: 0

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p> We were all there that day. Now one of us is dead... <br> <br> The first time Jemma and Matt were invited to Polskirrin - Lucas Jarrett's imposing ocean-view home - it was for an intimate wedding that ended in tragedy. Jemma will never forget the sight of the girl's body floating towards the rocky shore.</p> <p>Now, exactly one year later, Lucas has invited his guests back for a macabre anniversary.</p> <p>But what Lucas has in store for them is nothing like a candlelight vigil. Someone who was there that night remembers more than they'll admit to, and Lucas has devised a game to make them tell the truth.</p> <p>Jemma believes she and Matt know nothing about what happened... but what if she's wrong? Before you play a deadly game, make sure you can pay the price...</p> <p> From the four-million-copy bestselling author comes a psychological thriller that will have you gripped until the last page. Perfect for fans of Something in the Water and The Silent Patient . <br> <br> What readers are saying about THE MURDER GAME (STEPHANIE KING BOOK 2): <br> <br> 'Abbott is a gifted storyteller and this book is a total delight' Daily Mail </p> <p> 'A twisty-turny plot that had my head reeling, and my mind full of intrigue. Superb plotting from the mistress of suspense' Mel Sherratt, bestselling author of Hush Hush </p> <p> 'A grand re-imagining of the best kind of crime caper, filled with underlying tensions, fancy rooms and a detective hungry for answers' Magic Radio: April Book Club Pick</p> <p> 'Fantastic and gripping - I loved the intriguing concept and the brilliantly atmospheric Cornish setting' Karen Hamilton, bestselling author of The Perfect Girlfriend </p> <p> 'This gallops along at a cracking pace, and manages to keep the twists and surprises coming thick and fast' Crime Monthly <br> <br> 'A brilliant read, full of suspense' Closer </p> <p> Praise for Rachel Abbott's thrillers: <br> <br> 'A dark, extremely readable, well-plotted psychological thriller' The Times </p> <p>'It's easy to see why readers keep coming back for this author's thrills' Observer </p> <p>'What a storyteller Rachel Abbott is... I was hooked from the start' Cara Hunter, author of Close to Home </p> <p>'The twists just don't stop' Heat </p> <p>'A blockbuster crammed with drama and laced with up-to-date psychological insight' Daily Mail </p> <p>'A properly addictive, leave-the-light-on thriller' Red Magazine </p>

"Everyone must play..." -- Cover.

A year ago today, we all gathered for Lucas's wedding at his glorious Cornish home overlooking the sea. But no one was married that day. Now Lucas has invited us back to celebrate the anniversary. But the anniversary of what? The wedding that never happened, or the tragedy that occurred just hours before the ceremony was due to begin? He's told us that tonight he has planned a game. We have our costumes, we have our parts, and everyone must play. The game, he tells us, is about to begin. What does Lucas want from us? What are we not being told? And what's going to happen when this terrible game is over?