Whanganuilibrary.com
Normal view MARC view ISBD view

Alice's secret / Lynne Francis.

By: Francis, Lynne.
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookSeries: Francis, Lynne. Mill Valley girls: 2.Publisher: London, England : Avon, a division of HarperCollins, 2018Copyright date: ©2018Description: 453 pages ; 20 cm.Content type: text Media type: unmediated Carrier type: volumeISBN: 9780008290665; 0008290660.Other title: Alices secret.Subject(s): Textile workers -- Fiction | Baking -- Fiction | Family secrets -- Fiction | Yorkshire (England) -- Fiction | Great Britain -- Social life and customs -- 19th century -- FictionGenre/Form: Historical fiction. | Domestic fiction.DDC classification: 823.92 Summary: "1890. Alice is the sole bread-winner for her family, working at the local cotton mill. But when she suddenly begins to attract the wrong attention, her life begins to spiral out of control. 2018. For Alys, one bad decision after another has left her feeling that her life hasn't quite turned out the way it should have. But when her aunt is suddenly injured and in need of help baking and running her beloved cafe, Alys knows a trip to Yorkshire is just the escape she needs. In lending a hand, Alys stumbles across a long-buried family mystery and quickly finds herself caught up in uncovering the truth of what happened to her great-great-grandmother Alice. Alys won't stop until she knows the truth. Will the secrets of her grandmother's past help her to change her own future?"-- Provided by publisher.
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Log in to add tags.
Item type Current location Collection Call number Status Date due
Fiction Gonville Library
Fiction Collection
Fiction Collection FRAN Available

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

The second novel in Lynne Francis's family saga trilogy. Prepare to be captured by the story of Alice...

Can uncovering a long forgotten family mystery change your life?

1890 Alice is the sole bread-winner for her family, working at the local cotton mill. But when she suddenly begins to attract the wrong attention, her life begins to spiral out of control...

2018 For Alys, one bad decision after another has left her feeling that her life hasn't quite turned out the way it should have. But when her aunt is suddenly injured and in need of help baking and running her beloved café, Alys knows a trip to Yorkshire is just the escape she needs.

In lending a hand, Alys stumbles across a long-buried family mystery and quickly finds herself caught up in uncovering the truth of what happened to her great-great-grandmother Alice...

Alys won't stop until she knows the truth. Will the secrets of her grandmother's past help her to change her own future?

A beautiful and heart-breaking novel, that brings the past and present together in a gripping story of love, loss and hope. Perfect for fans of Rosie Clarke and Tracy Rees.

Includes recipes.

"1890. Alice is the sole bread-winner for her family, working at the local cotton mill. But when she suddenly begins to attract the wrong attention, her life begins to spiral out of control. 2018. For Alys, one bad decision after another has left her feeling that her life hasn't quite turned out the way it should have. But when her aunt is suddenly injured and in need of help baking and running her beloved cafe, Alys knows a trip to Yorkshire is just the escape she needs. In lending a hand, Alys stumbles across a long-buried family mystery and quickly finds herself caught up in uncovering the truth of what happened to her great-great-grandmother Alice. Alys won't stop until she knows the truth. Will the secrets of her grandmother's past help her to change her own future?"-- Provided by publisher.