Whanganuilibrary.com
Normal view MARC view ISBD view

The cabinet of curiosities / Preston & Child.

By: Preston, Douglas J.
Contributor(s): Child, Lincoln [author.].
Material type: TextTextSeries: Preston, Douglas J. Pendergast novel: 3.Publisher: London, England : Head of Zeus, 2018Copyright date: ©2002Edition: Paperback edition.Description: 568 pages ; 20 cm.Content type: text Media type: unmediated Carrier type: volumeISBN: 9781788547048; 1788547047.Subject(s): United States. Federal Bureau of Investigation -- Officials and employees -- Fiction | American Museum of Natural History -- Fiction | Pendergast, Aloysius (Fictitious character) -- Fiction | Serial murder investigation -- Fiction | Women archaeologists -- Fiction | Journalists -- Fiction | New York (N.Y.) -- FictionGenre/Form: Detective and mystery fiction. DDC classification: 813.6 Summary: In downtown Manhattan, a gruesome discovery has just been made - an underground charnel house containing the bones of murder victims. Research reveals that a serial killer was at work in New York's notorious Five Points neighbourhood in the 1880's, bent on prolonging his lifespan by any means.
Fiction notes: Click to open in new window
Item type Current location Collection Call number Status Date due Barcode Item holds
Fiction Davis (Central) Library
Fiction Collection
Fiction Collection PRES Checked out 04/10/2021 T00820467
Total holds: 0

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p>In downtown Manhattan, workers on a construction site breach a long-forgotten basement, unearthing a charnel house: thirty-six bodies, systematically dismembered and carefully immured at least 130 years ago.</p> <p>It's just the kind of case to intrigue the unorthodox and enigmatic FBI agent Aloysius X.L. Pendergast . But he's not the only interested party. Soon after the bodies are discovered a killer strikes . Their victim's corpse bears the same precise mutilations as the bodies in the basement.</p> <p> The nightmare has begun. Again. </p> <p> 'Fast-moving, sophisticated and bursting with surprises ... There's nothing else like them' WASHINGTON POST . </p> <p> 'Sit back, crack open the book and get ready for the ride of your life' DAVID BALDACCI .</p>

First published in the US in 2002 by Tom Doherty Associates.

In downtown Manhattan, a gruesome discovery has just been made - an underground charnel house containing the bones of murder victims. Research reveals that a serial killer was at work in New York's notorious Five Points neighbourhood in the 1880's, bent on prolonging his lifespan by any means.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Publishers Weekly Review

In seven bestselling novels (from Relic to The Ice Limit), Preston and Child have delivered a body of science-based thrillers that for high excitement and robust scientific imaginings rival those of Michael Crichton. Their eighth outing is another richly entertaining tale, about the hunt for a seemingly immortal serial killer at work in New York City. Preston and Child revive characters and settings from earlier novels, often a red flag that authorial imagination is tiring; but in this case, all comes together with zing. There's FBI Special Agent Pendergast (from Relic), pale, refined and possessed of a Holmes-like brain; dogged New York Times reporter William Smithback Jr. and his fiery erstwhile girlfriend, Nora Kelly of the New York (read American, where Preston used to work) Museum of Natural History (both characters from Thunderhead with the museum the setting for Relic). The action begins when groundbreaking for an apartment tower in downtown Manhattan reveals a charnel house of murder victims from the late 19th century. Enter Pendergast, who for unexplained reasons taps Kelly to study the remains before the site is stripped by the building's developer, a Donald Trump-type who, with the mayor's backing, will accept no construction delays. As Kelly calls on Smithback for investigative help, the city is struck by killings that duplicate the earlier murders, with the victims' spinal cords ripped away and clues pointing to a 19th-century scientist who sought the secret of immortality. Featuring fabulous locales, colorful characters, pointed riffs on city and museum politics, cool forensic and paleontological speculation and several gripping set pieces including an extended white-knuckle climax, this a great beach novel, at times gruesome, always fun: Preston-Child at the top of their game. (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved

School Library Journal Review

Adult/High School-FBI Special Agent Pendergast needs the talents of Nora Kelly, an archaeologist, and William Smithback, Jr., a researcher and reporter, to track down a serial killer whom he is sure has been stalking his prey since the late-19th century. When a real-estate developer demolishes a building and finds victims of a murderer who killed by tearing out their spinal columns, the three team up to pursue the evil behind the acts. Along the way, they nearly lose their lives as they relentlessly track the killer who, indeed, is still alive at the beginning of the 21st century. Pendergast stands out as a unique character, mysterious in his own right, with almost superhuman strength and endurance, and encyclopedic knowledge, and the human emotions and abilities of his two assistants intensifies interest in them. The authors again weave facts from New York City history with a thriller plot to produce an adventure filled with fast-moving events, gruesome scenes, and enough scary moments to keep the pages turning quickly. Fans of Preston and Child's Relic (Tor, 1996) or Reliquary (Forge, 1997) will enjoy this title as well.-Pam Johnson, Fairfax County Public Library, VA(c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Booklist Review

This best-selling writing team specializes in fast-paced thrillers with an element of fantasy (e.g.,Relic, 1995;Riptide, 1998;andThe Ice Limit, 2000). Construction of an apartment building in Manhattan is halted when excavators discover the remains of 36 dismembered bodies, the apparent victims of a serial killer who operated more than a century ago. Archaeologist Nora Kelly and FBI agent Pendergast (both have appeared in the authors' previous books) team up to track down the identity of the long-dead killer. The authors' most successful novels are set in the world of museums (Preston draws upon his experience at the American Museum of Natural History) and feature sharply drawn characters, snappy dialogue, and plenty of action. This is one of their best, primarily because it features Pendergast in a leading role; he's the most interesting character the pair has created--smart, erudite, and no-nonsense. This one doesn't contain the heavy doses of fantasy readers have come to expect from the duo, but its mix of suspense and archaeology is sure to please the thriller crowd. David Pitt.