Whanganuilibrary.com
Normal view MARC view ISBD view

Letters from Peaceful Lane [text (large print)] / by Janet Dailey.

By: Dailey, Janet.
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookSeries: Dailey, Janet. New Americana series: 3.Publisher: Waterville, Maine : Wheeler Publishing, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company, 2019Edition: Large print edition.Description: 363 pages (large print) ; 23 cm.Content type: text Media type: unmediated Carrier type: volumeISBN: 9781432863623; 1432863622.Subject(s): Married people -- Fiction | Widowers -- Fiction | Traffic accidents -- Fiction | Letters -- Fiction | Man-woman relationships -- Fiction | Large type books | Ozark Mountains -- FictionGenre/Form: Romance fiction.DDC classification: 813/.54 Summary: Allison felt like she'd stepped into a fairy tale when she married widower Burke Caldwell. But after less than a year of marriage, he's become removed and distant. His friends see Allison as little more than a trophy wife, his only daughter regards her as the enemy. With everyone so devoted to the memory of Burke's first wife, Kate, how can Allison possibly compete? Then a harrowing car crash leaves Burke badly injured. But it becomes achingly clear that the woman Burke wants by his side is the wife he lost . . . No longer able to dismiss the power Kate still holds, Allison can't resist reading a trove of hidden letters from Kate to Burke. What she discovers sets her mind reeling. The letters give Allison an enlightening window into her husband's heart. But will she have the courage to put aside her own fears, and grab hold of a love as big and bold as the man she once dared to marry?
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Log in to add tags.
Fiction notes: Click to open in new window
Item type Current location Collection Call number Status Date due
Large Print Home Service
Large Print
Large Print DAIL Available

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

A New York Times Bestselling AuthorThe New Americana SeriesAllison felt like she'd stepped into a fairy tale when she married widower Burke Caldwell. But after less than a year of marriage, he's become removed and distant. His friends see Allison as little more than a trophy wife, his only daughter regards her as the enemy. With everyone so devoted to the memory of Burke's first wife, Kate, how can Allison possibly compete? Then a harrowing car crash leaves Burke badly injured. But it becomes achingly clear that the woman Burke wants by his side is the wife he lost . . .No longer able to dismiss the power Kate still holds, Allison can't resist reading a trove of hidden letters from Kate to Burke. What she discovers sets her mind reeling. The letters give Allison an enlightening window into her husband's heart. But will she have the courage to put aside her own fears, and grab hold of a love as big and bold as the man she once dared to marry?

Allison felt like she'd stepped into a fairy tale when she married widower Burke Caldwell. But after less than a year of marriage, he's become removed and distant. His friends see Allison as little more than a trophy wife, his only daughter regards her as the enemy. With everyone so devoted to the memory of Burke's first wife, Kate, how can Allison possibly compete? Then a harrowing car crash leaves Burke badly injured. But it becomes achingly clear that the woman Burke wants by his side is the wife he lost . . . No longer able to dismiss the power Kate still holds, Allison can't resist reading a trove of hidden letters from Kate to Burke. What she discovers sets her mind reeling. The letters give Allison an enlightening window into her husband's heart. But will she have the courage to put aside her own fears, and grab hold of a love as big and bold as the man she once dared to marry?

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Publishers Weekly Review

Dailey's middling contemporary set in Branson, Mo., invites a third person into Allison and Burke Caldwell's marriage: his deceased wife, Kate. Six years into Allison and Burke's marriage, Allison is still treated as a trophy wife by Burke's friends and resented by her college-age stepdaughter, Brianna. Her coping ability is further reduced after Burke is hospitalized following a car crash. Burke admits that his business is failing and he's been a negligent husband, and he urges Allison to divorce him, but Allison hardly considers that option, even when Burke calls out for Kate in his sleep. Instead, Allison's discovery of Kate's old letters to Burke help her to realize that their marriage wasn't perfect either, which sparks Allison's interest in better understanding what caused the increasingly suspicious crash. Dailey sensitively writes about the difficulties faced by a young second wife trying to find her place among her husband's established relationships. Most of Burke and Allison's exchanges are stressful and combative, making it hard to see what makes them click as a couple, and their love story is secondary even to a subplot about Brianna finding love of her own. Though the novel is billed as a romance, Dailey focuses on Allison's growth in a way that will feel familiar to readers of women's fiction, who are the best audience for this lukewarm story. Agent: Richard Curtis, Richard Curtis Agency. (Apr.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Booklist Review

Allison is struggling to find her place in the established life of her new husband, Burke, and his 19-year-old daughter, Brianna. Burke's friends constantly compare Allison to his beloved late wife, Kate, and Brianna sees her stepmother as the wicked witch of the west. After a terrible car accident, Burke is left helpless in the hospital, and his company is in turmoil. During this crisis, Allison stumbles upon letters from Kate, which she reads in the hope of gaining insight and finding a way to create a happy future with Burke. Can Allison rise to the challenge, find her place with this stubborn man, and keep her new family together? Dailey gives readers a steadily paced novel showcasing the harsh realities that many second marriages undergo. The detailed character development shines through the somewhat convoluted plot, adding nuance to the contemporary romance. Fans of Susan Wiggs and Debbie Macomber will enjoy the third in Dailey's New Americana series, which emphasizes that family struggles can be overcome, and love will always prevail.--Shoshana Frank Copyright 2019 Booklist