Whanganuilibrary.com
Normal view MARC view ISBD view

Dark tribute [text (large print)] / Iris Johansen.

By: Johansen, Iris.
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookSeries: Johansen, Iris. Eve Duncan forensics thriller: 24.Publisher: Farmington Hills, Michigan : Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company, 2019Copyright date: ©2019Edition: Large print edition.Description: 609 pages (large print) ; 23 cm.Content type: text Media type: unmediated Carrier type: volumeISBN: 9781432859152; 1432859153.Subject(s): Duncan, Eve (Fictitious character) -- Fiction | Violinists -- Fiction | Family secrets -- Fiction | Guardian and ward -- Fiction | Kidnapping victims -- Fiction | Revenge -- Fiction | Kidnapping -- Fiction | Large type booksGenre/Form: Thrillers (Fiction)DDC classification: 813/.6 Summary: "New York Times bestseller Iris Johansen is back with another high octane thriller that will leave your mind racing and your heart pounding. Despite her tragic childhood, violin prodigy Cara Delaney has finally found peace in her career as a professional musician and stability in her relationship with her guardians, forensic sculptor Eve Duncan and ex-Navy SEAL Joe Quinn. If only Jock Gavin, Cara's lifelong friend and a man with his own twisted history, would come back into her life, everything would be perfect. But the carefully constructed world Cara has built for herself is suddenly threatened when she is kidnapped by a mysterious man trying to settle a score against her family, setting off a violent chain of events that puts everyone Cara loves in danger. Now, Cara will have to use every instinct she has to stay one step ahead, or else she will pay the deadly tribute of her family and their dark past."-- Provided by publisher.
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Log in to add tags.
Fiction notes: Click to open in new window
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Current location Collection Call number Status Date due
Large Print Davis (Central) Library
Large Print
Large Print JOHA Checked out 06/11/2019

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

A #1 New York Times Bestselling AuthorAn Eve Duncan NovelDespite her tragic childhood, Cara Delaney has finally found peace: she's a professional violinist, and has a stable relationship with her guardians, forensic sculptor Eve Duncan and ex-Navy SEAL Joe Quinn. If only Jock Gavin, Cara's lifelong friend, would come back into her life, everything would be perfect. But Cara's world is suddenly threatened when she is kidnapped by a mysterious man trying to settle a score. The act sets off a violent chain of events that puts her loved ones in danger. Now, Cara will have to use every instinct to stay one step ahead, or else she'll pay the deadly tribute of her family's dark past.

"Thorndike Press large print basic".

"New York Times bestseller Iris Johansen is back with another high octane thriller that will leave your mind racing and your heart pounding. Despite her tragic childhood, violin prodigy Cara Delaney has finally found peace in her career as a professional musician and stability in her relationship with her guardians, forensic sculptor Eve Duncan and ex-Navy SEAL Joe Quinn. If only Jock Gavin, Cara's lifelong friend and a man with his own twisted history, would come back into her life, everything would be perfect. But the carefully constructed world Cara has built for herself is suddenly threatened when she is kidnapped by a mysterious man trying to settle a score against her family, setting off a violent chain of events that puts everyone Cara loves in danger. Now, Cara will have to use every instinct she has to stay one step ahead, or else she will pay the deadly tribute of her family and their dark past."-- Provided by publisher.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Library Journal Review

Cara Delaney, violin prodigy and adopted daughter of world-famous forensic sculptor Eve Duncan and Atlanta PD detective Joe Quinn, is kidnapped. It soon becomes apparent that Cara's disappearance and kidnapping are linked to her Russian mafia kingpin grandfather's past. Joe, Eve, and the man Cara loves, Jock Gavin, move quickly to get her back. Meanwhile, Cara, in the clutches of a sadistic, maniacal killer, does everything she can to stay alive. Johansen's (Vendetta) 24th installment in her long-running Eve Duncan series is a psychological thriller with a little woo-woo, featuring some of the author's iconic flawed heroes and a truly psychotic villain, giving the audience a fast-paced chilling tale. Cara and Jock, background players in past novels, take center stage as Joe, Eve, and their young son Michael fill in as solid costars. VERDICT Fans of Kay Hooper, Heather Graham, and Lisa Jackson who like their romantic suspense served with a delicious side of supernatural will love this series. Reading in order is best. [See Prepub Alert, 9/17/18.]-Debbie Haupt, St. Charles City-Cty. Lib. Dist., St Peters, MO © Copyright 2019. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Publishers Weekly Review

Fans of paranormal romantic suspense will welcome bestseller Johansen's engrossing 24th Eve Duncan novel (after 2018's Shattered Mirror). After performing in Charlotte, N.C., Cara Delaney, whom many consider "the most brilliant violinist to come along since Yehudi Menuhin," flies to Atlanta for a fundraiser. Atlanta is also the home of her guardians-Eve, "one of the foremost forensic sculptors in the world," and Eve's husband, Det. Joe Quinn (ex-SEAL, ex-FBI)-and the couple's precocious 10-year-old son, Michael, whose telepathic powers allow him to communicate with others across long distances. Cara checks into a hotel where she knows Jock Gavin, her "best friend, her savior, the man who made everything right just by smiling at her," is also staying. Jock visits Cara in her room, and the romantic tension sizzles as Cara tries to persuade Jock to cross the line from friends to lovers. Shortly after Jock leaves Cara's room, she's kidnapped. Eve, Joe, and Jock race to the rescue. Strong female characters and a twist-filled plot will keep readers turning the pages. Agent: Andrea Cirillo, Jane Rotrosen Agency (Mar.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Booklist Review

If revenge is a dish best served cold, then John Svardak's vendetta against his longtime nemesis, Sergei Kaskov, has reached polar proportions. While a young man imprisoned in a Russian gulag, Svardak took his first act of vengeance against Kaskov in a disfiguring injury that ruined Kaskov's musical aspirations. In retaliation, Kaskov murdered Svardak's father and brother. Now, decades later, Svardak hopes to settle the score by kidnapping and brutally killing Kaskov's granddaughter, violin virtuoso Cara Delaney, and endangering the lives of those closest to her: Joe Quinn, ex-Navy SEAL husband of forensic-sculptor Eve Duncan; their psychically empathic son, Michael; and the charismatic but deadly Jock Gavin, the love of Cara's life. In her captivity, Cara finds a fierce inner strength that propels her to take control of her fate, to the dismay of Gavin and Duncan. Focusing on the manipulative nature of friends and enemies, lovers and family, Johansen's psychologically intense thriller featuring the newly empowered Delaney, who trades her passiveness for determination, will resonate with prescient timeliness. HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: Johansen's Eve Duncan series is a perennial favorite of crime-fiction fans.--Carol Haggas Copyright 2018 Booklist

Kirkus Book Review

Think the competition among music students at Juilliard is fierce? Wait till you hear what the family of violinist Anna Svardak has done, and is prepared to do, to anyone they consider a rival.By the time John Svardak sets his sights on Cara Delaney, he's already murdered four other violinists on both sides of the Atlantic because their music-making can't compare to that of his long-dead violinist sister, Anna. In fact, the chain of vengeance goes back even further, since Cara's grandfather Sergai Kaskov murdered Anna as payback for the time years earlier when Anna's father and brother broke Kaskov's finger bones in the gulag where they were imprisoned together because they feared him as yet another possible competitor in the days when she was still alive. Svardak succeeds in snatching Cara from her concert tour and hiding her out in the wilds of West Virginia as he cackles over the fate she'll share with her most recent predecessor, violinist Marian Napier. Fortunately, Cara's guardians, forensic sculptor Eve Duncan and Detective Joe Quinn of the Atlanta Police Department, and Michael, Eve's preternaturally empathic 10-year-old son, are fully equal to the challenge of locating her before she can follow Niccol Paganini and Jascha Heifetz into history. So for that matter is Cara herself, who's so eager to consummate her recently professed love for Eve's childhood friend Jock Gavin that she's doubly watchful and resourceful in planning her escape. But restoring Cara to the bosom of her family is only one more chapter in the war declared by Svardak, who's "crazy, not a ruthless sociopath," as Joe helpfully observes, and who's bent on eliminating everyone Cara loves before he returns to sweep her up again, this time for keeps, as a final tribute to his dead sister.The densely woven backstory, the oracular speeches, the elliptically motivated vendetta, and the constant recourse to near-supernatural powers all suggest that what Johansen (Vendetta, 2018, etc.) is writing is not a fairy tale for adults but a fairy tale with a mostly adult cast. Copyright Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.