Whanganuilibrary.com
Normal view MARC view ISBD view

The mother-in-law / Sally Hepworth.

By: Hepworth, Sally.
Material type: TextTextPublisher: Sydney, New South Wales : Pan Macmillan Australia, 2019Copyright date: ©2019Description: 346 pages ; 24 cm.Content type: text Media type: unmediated Carrier type: volumeISBN: 9781760552183 (paperback).Subject(s): Mothers-in-law -- Fiction | Mothers-in-law -- Death -- Fiction | Mothers-in-law and daughters-in-law -- Fiction | Family secrets -- Fiction | Murder victims -- Fiction | Melbourne (Vic.) -- FictionGenre/Form: Domestic fiction. DDC classification: A823.4 Summary: Someone once told me that you have two families in your life - the one you are born into and the one you choose. Yes, you may get to choose your partner, but you don't choose your mother-in-law. The cackling mercenaries of fate determine it all. From the moment Lucy met Diana, she was kept at arm's length. Diana is exquisitely polite, but Lucy knows, even after marrying Oliver, that they'll never have the closeness she'd been hoping for. But who could fault Diana? She was a pillar of the community, an advocate for social justice, the matriarch of a loving family. Lucy had wanted so much to please her new mother-in-law. That was ten years ago. Now, Diana has been found dead, leaving a suicide note. But the autopsy reveals evidence of suffocation. And everyone in the family is hiding something...
Item type Current location Collection Call number Status Date due Barcode Item holds
Fiction Davis (Central) Library
Fiction Collection
Fiction Collection HEPW Available T00817604
Fiction Davis (Central) Library
Fiction Collection
Fiction Collection HEPW Available T00827036
Fiction Hakeke Street Library
Fiction Collection (New)
Fiction Collection (New) HEPW Available T00827034
Total holds: 0

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

"Hepworth turns up the tension in her latest Australian-set domestic suspense novel. A masterful depiction... makes this a winner for fans of Liane Moriarty and Megan Abbott" Booklist (starred review)Someone once told me that you have two families in your life - the one you are born into and the one you choose. Yes, you may get to choose your partner, but you don't choose your mother-in-law. The cackling mercenaries of fate determine it all.From the moment Lucy met Diana, she was kept at arm's length. Diana was exquisitely polite, but Lucy knew, even after marrying Oliver, that they'd never have the closeness she'd been hoping for. But who could fault Diana? She was a pillar of the community, an advocate for social justice, the matriarch of a loving family. Lucy had wanted so much to please her new mother-in-law.That was ten years ago. Now, Diana has been found dead, leaving a suicide note. But the autopsy reveals evidence of suffocation. And everyone in the family is hiding something...From the bestselling author of The Family Next Door comes a new page-turner about that trickiest of relationships.PRAISE FOR THE MOTHER-IN-LAW "Readers will race to the end of this clever novel to find the truth." Publishers Weekly"We devoured it in just one sitting. Bet you will too!" Women's Day"The Mother-in-Law is indeed twisty and suspenseful, but even more than that, it's clever and nuanced." Kelly Rimmer, bestselling author of Me Without You"Absolutely stunning. The Mother-in-Law has so many layers - I'll be thinking about it for a long time." Heather Gudenkauf, New York Times bestselling author of The Weight Without SilencePRAISE FOR SALLY HEPWORTH"Sally Hepworth writes compelling, compassionate novels with characters you come to know and love. She is one of my favourite Australian writers." Liane Moriarty, bestselling author of The Husband's Secret, Big Little Lies and Nine Perfect Strangers"Hepworth's novels are perfect for lovers of Big Little Lies." Library journal (starred review)

"Everyone in this family is hiding something" -- Cover.

Someone once told me that you have two families in your life - the one you are born into and the one you choose. Yes, you may get to choose your partner, but you don't choose your mother-in-law. The cackling mercenaries of fate determine it all. From the moment Lucy met Diana, she was kept at arm's length. Diana is exquisitely polite, but Lucy knows, even after marrying Oliver, that they'll never have the closeness she'd been hoping for. But who could fault Diana? She was a pillar of the community, an advocate for social justice, the matriarch of a loving family. Lucy had wanted so much to please her new mother-in-law. That was ten years ago. Now, Diana has been found dead, leaving a suicide note. But the autopsy reveals evidence of suffocation. And everyone in the family is hiding something...