Whanganuilibrary.com
Normal view MARC view ISBD view

When the eagle hunts / Simon Scarrow.

By: Scarrow, Simon.
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookSeries: Scarrow, Simon. Eagles of the Empire: 3.Publisher: London : Headline, 2008Copyright date: ©2002Description: 433 pages : map ; 20 cm.Content type: text Media type: unmediated Carrier type: volumeISBN: 9780755349975; 0755349970.Subject(s): Macro, Lucius Cornelius (Fictitious character) -- Fiction | Cato, Quintus Licinius (Fictitious character) -- Fiction | Romans -- Great Britain -- Fiction | Rome -- Army -- Officers -- Fiction | Great Britain -- History -- Roman period, 55 B.C.-449 A.D. -- FictionSummary: When the family members of a first-century Roman general are taken prisoner by brutal native druids, two volunteers undertake a dangerous suicide mission to rescue the captives before they are sacrificed to the cult's dark gods
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Log in to add tags.
Fiction notes: Click to open in new window
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Current location Collection Call number Status Date due
Fiction Davis (Central) Library
Fiction Collection
Fiction Collection SCAR Available

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

IF YOU DON'T KNOW SIMON SCARROW, YOU DON'T KNOW ROME!

WHEN THE EAGLE HUNTS is the compelling third novel in Simon Scarrow's bestselling Eagles of the Empire series. For fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden. 'Scarrow's [novels] rank with the best' Independent

Britannia, AD 44. Cato, a thoughtful junior officer in the Roman army, and his commanding centurion, Macro, are simply pawns in Rome's lust to conquer Britain. During the freezing winter, the two men and their legion fight the native savages in hand-to-hand battles that haunt Cato for days after.

But in a place full of enemies, the most vicious are the Druids of the Dark Moon; brutal, merciless men who have captured the wife and children of General Plautius himself.

So Macro and Cato are given a mission: to travel deep into enemy territory and recover the hostages. If they fail, the fate of the Roman army may just hang in the balance...

First published in 2002.

When the family members of a first-century Roman general are taken prisoner by brutal native druids, two volunteers undertake a dangerous suicide mission to rescue the captives before they are sacrificed to the cult's dark gods

3. del af: Under the eagle. Seriens indhold se denne

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Publishers Weekly Review

Scarrow's third historical (Under the Eagle; The Eagle's Conquest) continues to chart the first-century Roman invasion of ancient Britain, as it records-skirmish by skirmish-the exploits of Centurion Macro, who commands the Sixth Century of the Fourth Cohort of the Second Roman Legion, and his optio (junior officer), Cato. In the early winter of A.D. 44, a supply vessel carrying the wife and two children of General Plautius is shipwrecked off the British coast. The general's family-with Prefect Valerius Maxentius, their official escort-is taken prisoner by the bloodthirsty Druids of the Dark Moon. A short time later, Maxentius, accompanied by a Druid warrior, approaches the Roman encampment and delivers an ultimatum: unless the Romans release five Druid prisoners, the general's family will be burned alive. In case anyone doubted his seriousness, the Druid summarily beheads Maxentius. Following the Fourth Cohort's great losses fighting its way through a horde of Britons, Plautius dispatches Macro and Cato to rescue his family. Macro and Cato's difficult undertaking is further complicated when their two captive guides turn out to be Macro's former girlfriend and her fianc?, a fearsome Druid magician. Despite Scarrow's attempt to invest his characters with personality, they come across as cardboard cutouts, and their anachronistic dialogue is off-putting. But his settings are well described and, however predictable, the plotting is strong, with much of the action reminiscent of Bernard Cornwell's. Albeit a bit slight and sporadic, Scarrow's novel demonstrates improvement in crafting, which bodes well for the expected sequel. (Feb.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved

Booklist Review

The Roman conquest of Britain continues as seasoned Centurion Lucius Cornelius Macro and young Optio Quintus Licinius Cato, an educated former slave, embark upon their most dangerous mission yet. During the harsh winter of 44 CE, the wife and young children of General Plautius are held hostage by a tribe of primitive Druids. In addition to the enemy, the Romans must battle against the brutal weather conditions demoralizing their troops. Threatening to burn their prisoners alive if their own captured comrades are not released, the Druids of the Dark Moon give the Romans 30 days to make the exchange. Unwilling to let the Druids dictate terms to Rome, Plautius prepares the Second Legion to advance on the Britons. Racing against time, Macro and Cato scramble to find Lady Pomponia and her children before they are offered as human sacrifices to the Druid gods. This authentic evocation of the mighty Roman Army is cloaked in action, suspense, and history, producing a darn good yarn that will appeal to a variety of readers. --Margaret Flanagan Copyright 2004 Booklist

Kirkus Book Review

Third installment in Scarrow's saga of Roman centurion Macro (The Eagle's Conquest, 2002, etc.), who rose from obscurity to command legionaries in an obscure outpost of the Empire known as Britain. Those who have followed Macro's rise will know the terrain, but newcomers should have no trouble picking up in media res. An illiterate foot soldier who rose to become a centurion (rough equivalent of a modern captain) in the crack Second Legion, Macro has survived both combat and palace intrigue and finds himself beset now by the warring tribes of Britain in a.d. 44. Although the British warlord Caratacus was soundly defeated (in the last episode), he somehow managed to escape the battlefield alive and has been coordinating resistance efforts against the Roman occupiers ever since. Some of his fiercest allies are the Druids of the Dark Moon, a bloodthirsty and fanatical cult who maraud through the country arousing terror in Roman and Briton alike. The Druids even manage to capture the wife and children of the Roman General Plautius after a shipwreck, and they demand the release of Druid prisoners in exchange for their prisoners' safe return. Since the Druids are fond of burning their captives alive in gigantic wooden totems known as Wicker Men, there's little doubt what lies in store for the general's family should he refuse to comply. But Macro and his faithful lieutenant Cato believe they can organize a rescue in time. Macro is aided by the dauntless Boudica, a tough daughter of the neutral Iceni tribe, who knows more about dealing with the Druids than ten centurions could ever learn. Together, Macro and Boudica manage something even more difficult than the raid itself--that is, fall in love. An account of war and religious fanaticism with plenty of spice, though not up to the adventure level of the first two. Copyright ©Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.