Whanganuilibrary.com
Normal view MARC view ISBD view

Shadowblack / Sebastien de Castell.

By: De Castell, Sebastien.
Material type: TextTextSeries: De Castell, Sebastien. Spellslinger: 2.London, England : Hot Key Books, 2017 ©2017Description: 344 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm.Content type: text | still image Media type: unmediated Carrier type: volumeISBN: 9781471406133; 147140613X; 9781471406676; 1471406679.Other title: Shadow black.Subject(s): Magicians -- Fiction | Magic -- Fiction | Teenage boys -- Fiction | Young adult fictionSummary: A Shadowblack plague is taking hold. It's a few months since Kellen left his people behind. Now 16, Kellen and Reichis have developed something of a reputation for being able to kill unruly mages. So it's no surprise when a wealthy but desperate father asks for their help in hunting down the men who've blackmailed him by putting a deadly curse on his only daughter. But when Kellen realises the girl is showing all the symptoms of the Shadowblack, he starts to wonder if those same mages might be able to cure his own disease for the right price.
Item type Current location Collection Call number Status Date due Barcode Item holds
Teenage Fiction Davis (Central) Library
Teenage Fiction
Teenage Fiction DECA Available T00621164
Total holds: 0

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

The second book in the rich, compelling and laugh-out-loud series for all teen, YA, adult and fantasy readers. Perfect for fans of The Dark Tower, Firefly, The Hunger Games and Guardians of the Galaxy .

A Shadowblack plague is taking hold. It's a few months since Kellen left his people behind. Now 16, Kellen and Reichis have developed something of a reputation for being able to kill unruly mages. So it's no surprise when a wealthy but desperate father asks for their help in hunting down the men who've blackmailed him by putting a deadly curse on his only daughter. But when Kellen realises the girl is showing all the symptoms of the Shadowblack, he starts to wonder if those same mages might be able to cure his own disease for the right price.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Publishers Weekly Review

De Castell's second fantasy novel featuring Kellen, a 16-year-old mage "who combines whatever paltry magic he can muster with every trick he can learn to stay alive," offers more of the same: a fast-paced story most likely to appeal to a teen audience. In the wake of the events of Spellslinger, Kellen, who has a price on his head, has been living as an outlaw for months, travelling with a "gambler who never gave [him] a straight answer" and the Rocket Raccoon-like Reichis, "a homicidal squirrel cat whose favorite food was human eyeballs." The bounty on Kellen results in attempts on his life, and he meets someone who claims to have a cure for Kellen's shadowblack, the so-called demon plague that gives him painful visions and manifests in black markings encircling Kellen's left eye. The quest for survival and a cure, and the political machinations back in Kellen's hometown, are familiar genre tropes, and De Castell's variations on them aren't novel enough to stand out. (Aug.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.