Whanganuilibrary.com
Normal view MARC view ISBD view

Baby / Annaleese Jochems.

By: Jochems, Annaleese.
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: Wellington, New Zealand : Victoria University Press, 2017Copyright date: ©2017Description: 219 pages ; 21 cm.Content type: text Media type: unmediated Carrier type: volumeISBN: 9781776561667; 177656166X.Subject(s): Lesbians -- Fiction | Triangles (Interpersonal relations) -- Fiction | Interpersonal relations -- Fiction | Boats and boating -- New Zealand -- Bay of Islands -- Fiction | Far North District (N.Z.) -- FictionGenre/Form: Psychological fiction. | New Zealand fiction -- 21st century. | Thrillers (Fiction)Awards: Okham New Zealand Book Award for Fiction, Longlist 2018.Summary: "Cynthia is twenty-one, bored and desperately waiting for something big to happen. Her striking fitness instructor, Anahera, is ready to throw in the towel on her job and marriage. With stolen money and a dog in tow they run away and buy 'Baby', an old boat docked in the Bay of Islands, where Cynthia dreams they will live in a state of love. But strange events on an empty island turn their life together in a different direction. Baby is a sunburnt psychological thriller of obsession and escape by one of the most exciting new voices in New Zealand fiction." -- vup.victoria.ac.nz.
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Log in to add tags.
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Current location Collection Call number Status Date due
Fiction Davis (Central) Library
Fiction Collection
Fiction Collection JOCH Available

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

"Cynthia is twenty-one, bored and desperately waiting for something big to happen when her bootcamp instructor, the striking Anahera, suggests they run away together. With stolen money and a dog in tow they buy Baby', an old boat docked in the Bay of Islands, where Cynthia dreams they will live in a state of love. But theres an intruder waiting to upset Cynthias plans and when a trip to an island utopia goes horribly wrong, a rot sets in on their relationship" -- Publisher information.

"Cynthia is twenty-one, bored and desperately waiting for something big to happen. Her striking fitness instructor, Anahera, is ready to throw in the towel on her job and marriage. With stolen money and a dog in tow they run away and buy 'Baby', an old boat docked in the Bay of Islands, where Cynthia dreams they will live in a state of love. But strange events on an empty island turn their life together in a different direction. Baby is a sunburnt psychological thriller of obsession and escape by one of the most exciting new voices in New Zealand fiction." -- vup.victoria.ac.nz.

Okham New Zealand Book Award for Fiction, Longlist 2018.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Library Journal Review

DEBUT The only thing keeping 21-year-old Cynthia motivated is a fixation on her beautiful yoga instructor, Anahera. When Anahera's marriage breaks up, Cynthia drains her father's bank account, and the women run away to the Bay of Islands, where they buy a boat named Baby. Then the money runs out, and a series of shocking occurrences thwart their plans. Cynthia is further blindsided by the arrival of a strange man who takes an immediate interest in Anahera, gradually infiltrating her little love nest. Soon, Cynthia's self-absorption and obsession take on a different complexion, going from lovesick to sinister. This dark and absorbing tale perfectly nails the egocentricity of the Internet age. VERDICT The pace is a shade too slow in the beginning, but soon this debut develops into a troubling and tense thriller. The writing style is sparse, powerful, and effective. Although this book may not appeal to a mainstream audience, New Zealander Jochems's startling and award-winning portrait of the postmillennial generation will cause readers to sit up and take notice.--Julie Whiteley, Stephenville, TX

Booklist Review

This engrossing debut novel follows Cynthia, a 21-year-old feeling bored and unsatisfied with existence. Whether out of romantic attraction or simple desire for adventure, Cynthia runs away with her much older fitness instructor, Anahera, who is escaping her marriage and domestic life for murky reasons. The women steal $16,000 dollars from Cynthia's father and hit the road. The journey begins with the pair in a sisterly relationship but quickly evolves into something steamier. For money, Cynthia suggests the two women sell pairs of used underwear to men online. Early in their odyssey, the women purchase a boat named Baby, which becomes their home. They read on the deck all day, then sleep together in the makeshift kitchen table-bed at night. Their relationship is strained and complicated when they land on a remote island, where they meet Gordon, a stoic nomad. Cynthia is skeptical about Gordon's relationship with Anahera, but she isn't about to let Gordon ruin their grand adventure. Dark and twisty despite its sun-soaked backdrop, this is perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty.--Courtney Eathorne Copyright 2010 Booklist

Kirkus Book Review

Two women impulsively leave their normal lives behind to live on a boat and off the grid in this psychosexual thriller.Cynthia is an extremely bored recent college graduate looking for something to devote her life to other than her extremely exclusive yoga classes, taught by the lovely Anahera. Anahera's marriage is on the rocks, and when she shows up on Cynthia's doorstep, ready to leave it all behind, Cynthia enthusiastically follows. The two take all of Cynthia's (father's) money and her dog and buy a boat named Baby, a new home for a new life. Cynthia is enamored with Anahera while Anahera remains slightly standoffish though warm. When an accident on a not-so-uninhabited island changes the dynamic of the two, however, all of a sudden Cynthia has no idea where she stands in this new life. Jochems' debut is witty and unique. In Cynthia, she has created a wholly original character who is hard to pin down even when the reader is inside her head. Anahera, meanwhile, is almost completely unfathomable, her actions never making much sense even after secrets are revealed later in the book. Jochems' prose is simple and intricately chosen, but sometimes the plot struggles to live up to the writing. The first two-fifths of the book are slow in comparison to the rest and written in a completely different tone. While the beginning is a strange coming-of-age for a young, privileged girl, by the end it is a psychosexual cat-and-mouse game between Cynthia and a character not introduced until halfway through the book. Jochems can definitely write, and her future work will surely be a treat. This book, however, is as uncertain as its protagonist about what it wants.A promising new voice but an uneven page-turner. Copyright Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.