Whanganuilibrary.com
Normal view MARC view ISBD view

Quest for the golden arrow / Carrie Jones.

By: Jones, Carrie, 1971- [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookSeries: Jones, Carrie, Time Stoppers: 2.Publisher: London Bloomsbury, 2017Copyright date: ©2017Description: 454 pages ; 20 cm.Content type: text Media type: unmediated Carrier type: volumeISBN: 9781408885437 (paperback); 1408885433 (paperback).Subject(s): Magic -- Juvenile fiction | Friendship -- Juvenile fiction | Best friends -- Juvenile fictionDDC classification: 823.92 Summary: In the enchanted town of Aurora, Annie, one of the last of a magical line of humans who can control time, and her mystical creature friends must save Annie's beloved new guardian, Miss Cornelia, from the wicked Raiff.
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Log in to add tags.
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Current location Collection Call number Copy number Status Date due
Childrens Fiction Davis (Central) Library
Children's Fiction
Children's Fiction JONE 1 Available

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

"A wild and fresh take on fantasy . . . I freaking loved it!" --Lisa McMann, New York Times bestselling author of The Unwanted series, on Time Stoppers Return to the magical town of Aurora in this exhilarating second book in the Time Stoppers series--perfect for fans of Percy Jackson and The Five Kingdoms. Annie is no longer a Nobody--she's a Time Stopper, one of the last humans who can control time. Now, she's found a home in the enchanted town of Aurora alongside all sorts of mystical creatures alongside, and made three best friends in Eva the dwarf, Bloom the last elf, and Jamie, who might be a troll. Then Annie discovers that the wicked Raiff has kidnapped her beloved new guardian. To save her, Annie must win the trust of a riddle-loving dragon and search for a magical bow and arrow. But as Annie and her friends embark on this mission, she learns some shocking secrets about her past--and about Bloom's, too. Can they save the day before the Raiff destroys everything they hold dear?

In the enchanted town of Aurora, Annie, one of the last of a magical line of humans who can control time, and her mystical creature friends must save Annie's beloved new guardian, Miss Cornelia, from the wicked Raiff.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Booklist Review

Annie Nobody, the youngest Time Stopper ever known, returns with faithful friends (a dwarf, a human who thinks he might turn into a troll, and the last elf in the world) to try to stop the demon Raiff, who has kidnapped the city of Aurora's most beloved citizen and senior Time Stopper, Miss Cornelia. Annie is just beginning to understand her abilities but is running out of time to learn more, as Raiff is drawing near Aurora with his army in an effort to overcome Annie and use her powers for himself. This fantasy, appropriate for upper-elementary and middle-grade readers, brings back familiar characters and Jones' quirky imaginative world. Its abundant action is supplemented by not-so-subtle messages about friendship, love, and the effect of humans on the environment. Although Jones does a creditable job orienting new readers by recalling plot points from Time Stoppers (2016), it would be best to read this sequel after the first book. Use this as a bridge from books like Roald Dahl's The BFG (1982) to fantasies like Delia Sherman's The Evil Wizard Smallbone (2016).--Welch, Cindy Copyright 2017 Booklist

Horn Book Review

In this sequel to Time Stoppers, Annie and her friends must save her beloved guardian and a long-lost population of elves from "the Raiff." Time is of the essence as the vile Raiff threatens to seize the magical village of Aurora and commandeer Annie's time-controlling powers for himself. Despite some plot holes and formulaic characters, this second installment is full of imagination and fascinating creatures. (c) Copyright 2018. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Kirkus Book Review

In a magical Maine town sitting invisibly within normal Maine, Annie and friends try to retrieve their guardian from evil clutches.At the end of Time Stoppers (2016), the evil Raiff took universally adored Miss Cornelia (in her rainbow skirts) to another realm. The Raiff is also holding hostage elves who had been long thought dead. The rescue mission is ostensibly urgent ("Every minute that passed was another minute the elves and Miss Cornelia came closer to death"), but the plot's pace is measured, and the kids have ample time to pause, think, and go places. They meet and ride a dragon; they go to Ireland by conventional air travel. The rescue mission's details and parameters are arbitrary and seemingly meaningless. Still, the characters show welcome kindness and poignant insecurity, and the text sprinkles in humor (a werewolf's "exasperation seemed to make him even furrier"), whimsy (a red dragon is, of course, a Red Sox fan), and an abundance of magical creatures. Though the previous installment featured Annie and Jamie as protagonists, here Annie dominates. Jamie's the only brown-skinned character among many white people. Pal Eva's characterization as stereotypical fantasyland dwarfclumsy, blustery, braggadocious comic reliefis unsettling given that real-life little people sometimes also use the word dwarf; Eva could easily be human, but the text treats her as uniquely mockable. Sparkly and creature-filled, toggling between fresh and trite. (Fantasy. 8-12) Copyright Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.