Whanganuilibrary.com
Normal view MARC view ISBD view

The adventures of Alfie Onion / Vivian French ; illustrated by Marta Kissi.

By: French, Vivian [author.].
Contributor(s): Kissi, Marta [illustrator.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: London : Walker Books, 2016Description: 188 pages : illustrations ; 20 cm.Content type: text | still image Media type: unmediated Carrier type: volumeISBN: 9781406363104.Other title: Alfie Onion.Subject(s): Brothers -- Juvenile fiction | Heroes -- Juvenile fictionDDC classification: 823.92 Summary: Alfie Onion is setting out on a great adventure. His brother Magnifico is off to make the family fortune - and Alfie's carrying his luggage! But it turns out Magnifico hates adventures and Alfie has to save the day - with a little help from his loyal dog, a talking horse, two mice and some meddling magpies.
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Log in to add tags.
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Current location Collection Call number Copy number Status Date due
Childrens Fiction Davis (Central) Library
Children's Fiction
Children's Fiction FREN 1 Checked out 03/09/2019

Alfie Onion is setting out on a great adventure. His brother Magnifico is off to make the family fortune - and Alfie's carrying his luggage! But it turns out Magnifico hates adventures and Alfie has to save the day - with a little help from his loyal dog, a talking horse, two mice and some meddling magpies.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

School Library Journal Review

Gr 3-5-Aggie Onion is certain that her seventh-born son is destined for greatness. After all, she named him Magnifico and has told him for years that he will win the hand of a rich princess and deliver them all to a life of glorious luxury. On Magnifico's 14th birthday, Aggie declares that this is the day for his grand adventure to begin. Unfortunately, Magnifico (who in truth is a spoiled and lazy lad) is not so inclined, especially when trolls and ogres are mentioned. To appease him, Aggie offers up his younger brother, Alfie, to act as manservant. The two set off in search of a princess and soon attract the attention of scheming magpies, a talking horse, and some loquacious mice. Full of trolls, ogres, and hilarious dialogue, award-winning author French (Oliver's Milkshake) has penned a droll and entertaining tale of adventure and hijinks. Illustrations by Kissi add to the humor and capture the characters admirably. -VERDICT Well-suited where Roald Dahl's BFG and Lois Lowry's Birthday Ball are popular.-Amy Nolan, St. Joseph Public Library, MI © Copyright 2018. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Booklist Review

Alfie's mother has always believed in fairy tales and has high hopes for her seventh son of a seventh son. Unfortunately, as son number eight, Alfie is overlooked. When their mother decides it's time for seventh son Magnifico to go on an adventure, be a hero, and find a princess so the family can live in glorious luxury, Alfie is chosen to accompany him as his faithful servant. The supposed hero is selfish and would rather be coddled and eat treats, while the unlikely sidekick, Alfie, proves himself the true hero who saves the day, talks to animals, and defeats ogres. Longtime author French (The Flight of Dragons, 2011) kicks off a new series of stand-alone novels here, giving fairy-tale tropes funny and refreshing twists. Aided by simple black-and-white illustrations, the lively story offers readers plenty of fast-paced adventures and fun. This short novel is perfect for fans of Sarah Mlynowski's Whatever After series and Liesl Shurtliff's fractured-fairy-tale books.--Thompson, Sarah Bean Copyright 2018 Booklist