Whanganuilibrary.com
Normal view MARC view ISBD view

Firelight / Sophie Jordan.

By: Jordan, Sophie.
Material type: TextTextPublisher: New York : Harper, c2010Edition: First edition.Description: 326 pages ; 22 cm.Content type: text Media type: unmediated Carrier type: volumeISBN: 9780061935084 (trade); 0061935085 (trade); 9780061935084 (trade bdg.); 0061935085 (trade bdg.).Other title: Fire-light.Subject(s): Dragons -- Juvenile fiction | Shapeshifting -- Juvenile fiction | Moving, Household -- Juvenile fiction | High schools -- Juvenile fiction | Schools -- Juvenile fiction | Hunting stories | Sisters -- Juvenile fiction | Dating (Social customs) -- Juvenile fiction | Schools -- Fiction | Hunting -- FictionGenre/Form: Fantasy fiction. | Young adult fiction. | Teen fiction. DDC classification: [Fic] Summary: When sixteen-year-old Jacinda, who can change into a dragon, is forced to move away from her community of shapeshifters and start a more normal life, she falls in love with a boy who proves to be her most dangerous enemy.
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Log in to add tags.
Item type Current location Collection Call number Copy number Status Date due Barcode Item holds
Teenage Fiction Davis (Central) Library
Teenage Fiction
Teenage Fiction JOR 1 Available T00509547
Total holds: 0

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p>The first book in an addictive, romantic trilogy from New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan is perfect for fans of Laini Taylor, Tahereh Mafi, and Claudia Gray.</p> <p>With her rare ability to breathe fire, Jacinda is special even among the draki--the descendants of dragons who can shift between human and dragon forms.</p> <p>But when Jacinda's rebelliousness forces her family to flee into the human world, she struggles to adapt, even as her draki spirit fades. The one thing that revives it is the gorgeous, elusive Will, whose family hunts her kind. Jacinda can't resist getting closer to him, even though she knows she's risking not only her life but the draki's most closely guarded secret.</p> <p>Mythical powers and breathtaking romance ignite in this story of a girl who defies all expectations and whose love crosses an ancient divide, from New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan.</p>

When sixteen-year-old Jacinda, who can change into a dragon, is forced to move away from her community of shapeshifters and start a more normal life, she falls in love with a boy who proves to be her most dangerous enemy.

12-17.

7-up.

2 11 27 47 68 82 89 96 103 135

Followed by: Vanish.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Publishers Weekly Review

"[I]magine loving someone... so much that you would give up all you ever wanted for yourself." It's one of the more insidious myths girls face: the need to lose one's very self to love. It's also the goal of Jacinda, the dragon-human "draki" for whom it's love at first sight when "bad boy" draki-hunter Will calls her beautiful. While the notion that women find their highest calling in self-sacrifice is common in romances, paranormal or otherwise, it's distressing to see it presented so plainly. Jacinda does have one other option: she can allow herself to become a flightless "broodmare" with the son of the draki pack alpha instead. The rest of the plot-the usual high school posturing, human/draki tensions, a mother who doesn't understand, a bratty sister-comes down to this choice of one romantic obliteration or the other. The prose in adult romance author Jordan's YA debut is solid, and there's no reason these star-crossed, cross-species lovers should be any less popular than their vampire and werewolf counterparts, which makes Jacinda's lack of independence all the more disappointing. Ages 12-up. (Sept.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

School Library Journal Review

Gr 9 Up-Jacinda is a draki, a modern-day descendant of the dragons of old, surviving in the misty mountains of the Pacific Northwest in the first title (HarperCollins, 2010) in a trilogy by Sophie Jordan. She's not just any draki-Jacinda is a fire-breather, the only one born to her pride in generations. Armed with her particular talent and the innate ability of all draki to shift or manifest into human form, Jacinda is special, powerful, prized. But her power and desirability have a cost. She is too important to the survival of the pride to be trusted with her own decisions. When Jacinda is promised to the pride's alpha male, her mother flees with Jacinda and her twin sister. They attempt assimilation in a small Nevada town, hiding from the pride. But when Jacinda finds a forbidden love in Will, a human in her suburban high school, she places her entire family in danger. Therese Plummer is cast perfectly as Jacinda. Her youthful voice switches seamlessly between Jacinda's self-absorbed, anxious inner musings and her more confident audible declarations. She is equally adept at portraying Jacinda's determined mother, long-suffering sister, the brooding alpha male, Cassian, and the tortured voice of Will. This fiery inter-species romance, fraught with anxiety and anticipation, will leave fans scrambling for the next title in the series.-Lisa Taylor, Ocean County Library, NJ (c) Copyright 2012. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Booklist Review

Descended from dragons, the draki's ability to appear human protects them from hunters. Jacinda lives with her pride in the Cascades, but she chafes under her special status as the only fire-breather in hundreds of years. Recklessly breaking the no-fly rule, she attracts hunters; mercifully, one hunter, a beautiful boy who looks upon her with wonder, lets her escape. After this, the pride intends to hobble her rebelliousness, and Jacinda is forced to flee. But while twin sister Tamra, who never manifested and was shunned, is happy with the move, Jacinda feels only anguish within Nevada's desert climate. Then she meets Will and, despite recognizing him as the same draki hunter, feels herself come alive. Jordan's compelling addition to the supernatural star-crossed lovers theme is equal parts taut suspense and sensuous romance, with visceral writing and believable relationships among characters, particularly among Jacinda's family. A foreshadowed twist and a thrilling confrontation in the end pages leave Jacinda heartbroken and in trouble, and readers will howl for more.--Hutley, Krista Copyright 2010 Booklist

Horn Book Review

Jacinda's mother relocates the family far from their pride of draki, dragonlike shape-shifters. Struggling to assimilate into human life and fearing she will lose the ability to shift, Jacinda finds solace in a relationship with Will--whose relatives hunt draki for sport. This star-crossed supernatural romance occasionally gets bogged down in awkward dialogue and self-indulgent angst, but lyrical descriptions of draki experiences soar. (c) Copyright 2011. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Kirkus Book Review

Dragon shapeshifters steam more than sparkle in this romantic fantasy. High schooler Jacinda is the treasure of her "draki" pride, the first firebreather in centuries. But after flouting the rules once too often, she is forced to flee to a "normal" human life that leaves her dragon-self withering--until she meets Will. Although his family hunts her kind, she can't resist the immediate attraction. But any involvement with Will endangers all dragonkind, and her intended draki mate isn't ready to let her go. The first-person, present-tense narration fires up the intensity with short choppy sentences and vivid sensual descriptions. Jacinda's self-centered viewpoint scarcely acknowledges any other character--even Will displays little personality beyond being Beautiful, Tortured and Desperately in Love. Some might cavil at the instantaneous passionate bond between lovers who keep so many secrets and wonder at the implausible logistics of draki society. But this isn't a story for skeptics; it's all about swooning at the tragic star-crossed love, savoring the brooding jealousy of the obligatory triangle and agonizing over the abrupt cliffhanger ending. Just surrender to the sizzle. (Paranormal romance. YA)]] Copyright Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.