Whanganuilibrary.com
Normal view MARC view ISBD view

Carry on : the rise and fall of Simon Snow / Rainbow Rowell.

By: Rowell, Rainbow [author.].
Material type: TextTextPublisher: London : Macmillan, 2015Copyright date: ©2015Description: 522 pages : illustrations ; 20 cm.Content type: text Media type: unmediated Carrier type: volumeISBN: 9781447299318.Subject(s): Magic -- Fiction | Monsters -- Fiction | Dating (Social customs) -- Fiction | Boarding schools -- Fiction | Magicians -- Fiction | Vampires -- Fiction | Roommates -- Fiction | Missing persons -- Fiction | Students -- Fiction | Magic -- Teen fiction | Monsters -- Teen fiction | Dating (Social customs) -- Teen fiction | Boarding schools -- Teen fiction | Magicians -- Teen fiction | Vampires -- Teen fiction | Roommates -- Teen fiction | Missing persons -- Teen fiction | Students -- Teen fictionGenre/Form: Young adult fiction. | Teen fiction. DDC classification: [Fic] Summary: Simon Snow just wants to relax and savour his last year at the Watford School of Magicks, but no one will let him. His girlfriend broke up with him, his best friend is a pest and his mentor keeps trying to hide him away in the mountains where maybe he'll be safe. Simon can't even enjoy the fact that his room-mate and longtime nemesis is missing, because he can't stop worrying about the evil git. Plus there are ghosts. And vampires. And actual evil things trying to shut Simon down. When you're the most powerful magician the world has ever known, you never get to relax and savour anything.
Item type Current location Collection Call number Copy number Status Date due Barcode Item holds
Teenage Fiction Gonville Library
Teenage Fiction
Teenage Fiction ROW 1 Available T00611128
Total holds: 0

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

Simon Snow just wants to relax and savor his last year at the Watford School of Magicks, but no one will let him. His girlfriend broke up with him, his best friend is a pest and his mentor keeps trying to hide him away in the mountains where maybe he'll be safe. Simon can't even enjoy the fact that his roommate and longtime nemesis is missing, because he can't stop worrying about the evil git. Plus there are ghosts. And vampires. And actual evil things trying to shut Simon down. When you're the most powerful magician the world has ever known, you never get to relax and savor anything. Carry On is a ghost story, a love story, a mystery and a melodrama. It has just as much kissing and talking as you'd expect from a Rainbow Rowell story - but far, far more monsters.

Simon Snow just wants to relax and savour his last year at the Watford School of Magicks, but no one will let him. His girlfriend broke up with him, his best friend is a pest and his mentor keeps trying to hide him away in the mountains where maybe he'll be safe. Simon can't even enjoy the fact that his room-mate and longtime nemesis is missing, because he can't stop worrying about the evil git. Plus there are ghosts. And vampires. And actual evil things trying to shut Simon down. When you're the most powerful magician the world has ever known, you never get to relax and savour anything.

2 5 7 11 18 19 20 28 34 42 47 68 79 85 91 92 96 97 98 100 102 103 109 115 119 130 132 134 141 144 149 151 164

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Library Journal Review

English-born orphan Simon Snow is the most hapless hero the World of Mages has ever seen. As the prophesied Chosen One, Simon finds his immense magical power is nearly out of his control at the best of times. Now in his final year at school, he is surrounded by mysteries: his own missing parents, his distant girlfriend, ghosts, and surviving the final showdown with the Insidious Humdrum. He also worries-obsessively, sleeplessly-about his missing roommate-and nemesis-Baz. Will Simon's life really begin, as he believes, after the happily ever after? And will life be worth living if Baz doesn't return? Verdict In a departure from her realistic young adult and adult novels (Fangirl; Eleanor and Park), Rowell delves into fantasy with this story, which was originally imagined as a plot device in Fangirl. Similar on the surface to J.K. Rowling's Harry Potter series, the intricately plotted novel, with its multiple voices, makes for a rich fantasy worthy of its own canon. Rowell aficionados who fell for Simon and Baz will be clamoring for this coming-of-age novel. With crossover appeal, expect demand from teens and adults alike. And presenting a genuine LGBT romance, Rowell has another hit on her hands.-Jennifer Beach, Cumberland Cty. P.L., VA © Copyright 2015. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Publishers Weekly Review

Rowell's novel (an offshoot of 2013's Fangirl), tells the story of Simon Snow, a Harry Potter-esque "Chosen One" trying to learn to use his magic at a wizarding school, and Baz, Simon's roommate and sworn enemy, who is secretly in love with Simon. Rowell's many fangirls and fanboys are sure to swoon over Morton's masterful and character-perfect narration: his voice for Baz is initially cool, sneering, and jaded, then raw and tortured when Baz finally breaks down, whereas Simon's voice is higher-pitched and endearingly awkward. The emotionally intense scenes between the two are especially impressive, as Morton switches effortlessly back and forth between these contrasting characters as they bicker and flirt. Ages 13-up. A St. Martin's Griffin hardcover. (Oct.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

School Library Journal Review

Gr 9 Up-Simon Snow is back with his own story, after being introduced as a fanfiction hero in Rowell's Fangirl (St. Martin's Griffin, 2013). It's senior year at the Watford School of Magicks, but Simon's roommate/nemesis Baz is nowhere to be found, which disconcerts Simon more than he would have guessed. When Baz finally does turn up, Simon offers to help him find out who killed his mother, and an uneasy truce is developed among the two boys and Simon's best friend, Penny. The group dynamics evolve as the teens fight for magic and for their lives. Scottish actor Euan Morton narrates and does a stunning job, especially with the complex characters of Simon and Baz. He reveals the heart of each character, portraying Simon as an uncertain magician, uncomfortable with his magical power yet trying to merit his title of "The Chosen One," while vampire Baz is occasionally cruel and always cool yet concealing a surprisingly emotional side. This audiobook is sure to please a wide range of listeners with its sweet romance, terrifying adventures, and inventive magical creations. Wonderful fantasy-type music begins and ends the listening experience. VERDICT An essential purchase for fans of Harry Potter and Rainbow Rowell, as well as lovers of fantasy. ["With rock-solid worldbuilding, a sweet and believable romance subplot, and satisfying ending, Rowell's latest is a monumentally enjoyable reading experience": SLJ 11/15 starred review of the St. Martin's Griffin book.]-Julie Paladino, formerly of East Chapel Hill High School, NC © Copyright 2016. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Horn Book Review

In Fangirl (rev. 11/13), protagonist Cath wrote fanfiction for the fictitious Simon Snow fantasy series. Now Rowell has written a novel set in Simon Snows universe and using many conventions of fanfiction, most notably slash (in this case non-graphic), usually defined as a wish-fulfilling relationship between two characters of the same sex who, in the original work, are not a romantic couple. Simon, the most powerful mage in centuries, uncovers secrets during his final year at Watford School of Magicks that call into question his long-held beliefs about sharp lines between good and evil. He also begins to realize that his obsession with his probably-a-vampire roommate Baz may not be purely antagonistic. The novel is longer than it needs to bejust kiss already, Simon and Bazand the many alternating narrators are a little dense when it comes to solving several related mysteries. But theres plenty to enjoy along the way, including clever names for spells (These arent the droids youre looking for makes oddities like dragon parts on a human unnoticeable) and plenty of wit. Reading Fangirl first isnt strictly necessarythe brief authors note covers the basicsand the metatextual concept is somewhere on the spectrum between confusing and fascinating, depending on ones perspective. A working knowledge of the Harry Potter books and other popular fandoms isnt absolutely essential either, but it makes this send-up a lot more fun. shoshana flax (c) Copyright 2016. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.