Whanganuilibrary.com
Normal view MARC view ISBD view

Stitch Head / Guy Bass ; illustrated by Pete Williamson.

By: Bass, Guy [author.].
Contributor(s): Williamson, Pete.
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookSeries: Bass, Guy. Stitch Head: 1.Publisher: London : Stripes, 2011Description: 190 pages : illustrations ; 20 cm.Content type: text Media type: unmediated Carrier type: volumeISBN: 9781847151834.Subject(s): Stitch Head (Fictitious character) -- Juvenile fiction | Monsters -- Juvenile fiction | Best friends -- Juvenile fiction | Friendship -- Juvenile fiction | Scientists -- Juvenile fiction | Freak shows -- Juvenile fictionGenre/Form: Children's fiction.DDC classification: [Fic.] Summary: "In the maze-like dungeons of Castle Grotteskew, the frightfully insane Professor Erasmus conducts his bizarre experiments on living things. His very first creation has been long forgotten - a small, almost-human creature, known only as Stitch Head. Poor Stitch Head has spent years vying for attention amongst a menagerie of freakish monsters. When a travelling circus ringmaster, Fulbert Freakfinder, promises to make him a star, Stitch Head wonders whether there is another life for him. But first he has to catch the professor's latest creation - a monstrous three-armed creature that's just smashed its way to freedom..."--Publisher's description.
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Log in to add tags.
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Current location Collection Call number Copy number Status Date due
Childrens Fiction Davis (Central) Library
Children's Fiction
Children's Fiction BASS 1 Available

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

'It's dark monstrous fun!' Wondrous Reads
Enter the darkly funny world of Stitch Head, as he steps out of the shadows into the adventure of an almost-lifetime...
Deep in the maze-like dungeons of Castle Grotteskew, insane Professor Erasmus created Stitch Head, a small, almost-human creature. His experiments continued, filling the castle with creations so fabulously monstrous that Stitch Head was long forgotten. Until a travelling circus ringmaster knocks at the castle door, promising to make Stitch Head a star. Is this Stitch Head's chance to venture beyond the castle walls? Or could he be making a terrible mistake...?
The first book in the best-selling, laugh-out-loud STITCH HEAD series by award-winning author Guy Bass, with illustrations by Pete Williamson.
Full of monstrous fun, STITCH HEAD is perfect for fans of David Walliams, AMELIA FANG and THE NOTHING TO SEE HERE HOTEL.
Delve into Stitch Head's other adventures:
THE PIRATE'S EYE
THE GHOST OF GROTTESKEW
THE SPIDER'S LAIR
THE BEAST OF GRUBBERS NUBBIN
THE MONSTER HUNTER

"In the maze-like dungeons of Castle Grotteskew, the frightfully insane Professor Erasmus conducts his bizarre experiments on living things. His very first creation has been long forgotten - a small, almost-human creature, known only as Stitch Head. Poor Stitch Head has spent years vying for attention amongst a menagerie of freakish monsters. When a travelling circus ringmaster, Fulbert Freakfinder, promises to make him a star, Stitch Head wonders whether there is another life for him. But first he has to catch the professor's latest creation - a monstrous three-armed creature that's just smashed its way to freedom..."--Publisher's description.

11 22 24 27 75 100 132 147 151 161

CQNEWKIDS

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Horn Book Review

This series chronicles the "almost-life" of Stitch Head, a mad professor's creation pursued by the aptly named Freakfinder. The combination of humor and horror may appeal to some readers, but the text calls attention to its own silliness so constantly as to be tiresome. The black-and-white illustrations, complete with faux flaws in the pages, are intentionally more goofy than scary. [Review covers these Stitch Head titles: Stitch Head and The Pirate's Eye.] (c) Copyright 2014. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.