Whanganuilibrary.com
Normal view MARC view ISBD view

Wolf [text (large print)] / Mo Hayder.

By: Hayder, Mo [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookSeries: Hayder, Mo. Jack Caffery thriller: 7.; Hayder, Mo. Jack Caffery thriller: 07.Publisher: Leicester : Thorpe, 2015, c2014Edition: Large print edition.Description: 494 pages (large print) ; 24 cm.Content type: text Media type: unmediated Carrier type: volumeISBN: 9781444822731 (hbk.); 144482273X.Subject(s): Marley, Flea (Fictitious character) -- Fiction | Police -- England -- Bristol -- Fiction | Police divers -- England -- Bristol -- FictionGenre/Form: Detective and mystery fiction. | Mystery and detective stories. | Large type books.Summary: "When a vagrant, the Walking Man, finds a dog wandering alone with a note attached to its collar saying 'help us', he's sure it's a desperate plea from someone in trouble and calls on Detective Inspector Jack Caffery to investigate. Caffery is reluctant to get involved - until the Walking Man promises new information regarding the childhood abduction of Caffery's brother in exchange for the detective's help. Meanwhile, a wealthy local family are fighting for their lives in their remote home ten miles away. Two men have tricked their way into the house and are holding the family to ransom. Yet as the captors' demands become increasingly bizarre and humiliating, it becomes clear that this is more than a random crime - it's a personal vendetta..." --Publisher's description.
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Log in to add tags.
Fiction notes: Click to open in new window
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Current location Collection Call number Copy number Status Date due
Large Print Hakeke Street Library
Large Print
Large Print HAY 1 Available

Complete and unabridged.

First published: London: Bantam Press, 2014.

"When a vagrant, the Walking Man, finds a dog wandering alone with a note attached to its collar saying 'help us', he's sure it's a desperate plea from someone in trouble and calls on Detective Inspector Jack Caffery to investigate. Caffery is reluctant to get involved - until the Walking Man promises new information regarding the childhood abduction of Caffery's brother in exchange for the detective's help. Meanwhile, a wealthy local family are fighting for their lives in their remote home ten miles away. Two men have tricked their way into the house and are holding the family to ransom. Yet as the captors' demands become increasingly bizarre and humiliating, it becomes clear that this is more than a random crime - it's a personal vendetta..." --Publisher's description.

2 13 18 22 27 37 96 130 151

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Library Journal Review

In Hayder's best Jack Caffery thriller yet, a worn-out Jack is feeling all the years he has put into police service and his never-ending quest to find out what happened to his long-lost brother. The novel opens with a young girl finding a stray dog with a ripped note tucked into its collar that states, "Help us." A vagrant known as the Walking Man witnesses this and promises the young girl that he will help the dog. Never one to give out information willingly, the Walking Man surprisingly contacts Jack-offering up a trade: find out who needs help and, in return, the Walking Man will give Jack some closure about his brother. This deal with the devil sets off a home invasion novel unlike no other. The Anchor-Ferrers, a wealthy family with secrets and issues of their own, are being held hostage in their estate. Will Jack find them in time? And why was this family chosen in the first place? VERDICT Dark and twisty, this gripping crime novel by an Edgar Award winner is an outstanding read, whether Jack is a new character to the reader or an old friend. For fans of John Connolly or Robert Crais. [Library marketing.]-Marianne Fitzgerald, Severna Park H.S., MD (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Publishers Weekly Review

In Hayder's unsatisfying fifth crime thriller featuring Somerset-based Det. Insp. Jack Caffrey (after 2013's Poppet), Jack takes leave from his official duties and throws himself once again into investigating the disappearance of his older brother, Ewan, who vanished at age nine and was thought to be murdered by a local pedophile. Jack turns for help to the Walking Man, a mysteriously wise vagrant, who agrees to provide information about Ewan if Jack will try to find the owner of a lost dog named Bear. Bear escaped from her home after it was invaded by two men posing as police officers and who are keeping her owners-scientist Oliver Anchor-Ferrers; his wife, Matilda; and their 29-year-old daughter, Lucia-hostage. The reasoning behind the in-home kidnapping emerges frustratingly slowly. As Jack and the Anchor-Ferrers look for answers, each in their own way, readers will wish in vain for a cameo from Jack's intrepid, rule-breaking sometimes partner, Flea Marley. Agent: Jane Gregory, Gregory & Co. (U.K.). (May) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.